top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCaroline Smith

How has Girl Scouts Helped and Inspired Us?

Although I’ve been a Girl Scout for basically my whole life, my most impactful memories were in my years as a Senior and Ambassador Scout. There aren’t a lot of Girl Scout troops that don’t disband before high school, but when they stay together, older Girl Scouts have a lot of amazing travel and education opportunities that younger Scouts don’t get to experience.


Girl Scout Ambassador Membership Star - Source: www.basicsclothing.com

I decided to ask a few people who were or currently are older Girl Scouts.


Here’s what they said:


“The most inspirational thing that I have experienced being a Girl Scout is being supportive and happy for other people's success. We are taught in life that the world is a competition and that if someone else is winning, we are losing, but in Girl Scouting when one of us wins, we all do. We see these examples of what we have the power to do in the future and it is amazing.” - Anya Vrabie, Girl Scouts of Connecticut Alumna ‘16


“The most important thing Girl Scouts has taught me is to acknowledge the privilege I have and how others may not have as much I do. With that privilege I have to work so everyone has equal opportunity and access for all the things I take for granted. Girl Scouts has helped me realize that there is always someone else who we can help.” - Roxanne James, Girl Scouts of Southeastern New England Alumna ‘15


“Girl Scouts taught me to see past the limitations I set for myself. There were so many times that I thought I couldn't do something, so many moments where I thought "this is impossible." But every time I thought I hit a new low, someone lended a helping hand and I got back on my feet. Whether it was winter camping in the snow, completing 100 squats for a few extra points in competition, building a fire from scratch, or even planning an event for younger girls, I always did it. And more often than not, with the help from my sisters, I'd be ready to do it again and again." - Branda Cavanna, Girl Scouts of Connecticut Alumna ‘15


“My time in Girl Scouts helped to build my confidence. I was always really quiet. I was younger, and never really had much to say but my troop always encouraged me to speak up, and be myself. We worked together and led our own projects, learning all about how to be a leader. I apply the confidence I learned from that time everyday in my life.” - Lana Vilcinskas, Girl Scout Ambassador

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page